It’s Been Such A Long Time

skypedatememeHas it really been over a year since I posted here?

Really?

Why haven’t I stopped in, stayed a while, and rambled on here since last July?!!!

It isn’t because I don’t like it here.  I love this place.

It isn’t because I’ve been sleeping the whole night through.  I haven’t.

It isn’t because I have nothing to write about. Oh, that is most certainly not the case.

The truth is this:  I’ve been so stinking busy with real life, that I haven’t had a moment to render my version of this crazy life into written prose…until now.

Let’s get caught up, shall we?

In my last post, which was just over a year ago,  I wrote about three men that I was, well, for lack of a better term, talking to.  It was a bit more than discussion for each of these, but a LOT less than actual dating.  I don’t know exactly where that put these interactions…and I no longer care. In that post, I mentioned Man #1, Man #2, and Man #3.  I know, it sounds a lot like Let’s Make A Deal.  What’s behind door number 1?  Yeah, whatever.

As if dating were that easy.

In that last post I wrote this about Man #3:

Man #3. Badass. Meaning, everything I’d look for, and more. Competent, thoughtful, funny, attractive. Crazy, unexpected, and completely unreachable (which maybe says something more about me than him). He’s an old crush from high school. Not the one I mentioned before and he’s also, get this, not married. I had the crush on him, he had no idea I existed. Understandable because back in the day I was the silent wallflower, nerdy gal, blending into the background. Nobody noticed me and I was okay with that. Thirty years later, we meet up at the first class reunion I ever attended. Needless to say, I’d blossomed. I had boobs, I knew how to apply some sort of make up and my fashion sense had improved. I got Man #3′s attention, as well as most of the other men and women in my graduating class. I thank my mother, yet again, for the genetics that allow me to pass as 15 years younger than I actually am. But class reunion aside, Man #3 was going through his own heartaches and we only touched base recently on Facebook.

Facebook, the maker and breaker of relationships. So far, in this case, it’s been making this friendship. I happen to be a frequent flyer on Facebook, so if he Facebook stalked me, he’s got a pretty good idea of who I am and what I’m about. And…he doesn’t seem to be put off by this. In high school he was the class clown. I was too tongue-tied to ever initiate a conversation with him or anyone of the opposite sex. Even now, he keeps me laughing and helps me to quit being quite so freaking intense about everything.

The down side? He lives halfway across the country when he’s actually in the country. The other times, he’s out of the country…

That was July 9 of last year.

Okay, wait for it…

On June 20 of this year, I married Man #3.

I know.  It’s still as surprising to me as it must be to you.  It’s a great story.  You can read more about us here. You’ll want to start with this post and then read on.  Don’t forget to check out The Backstory.

Hopefully, this explains my absence during the last year.

There’s more, but that’s probably enough of a shocker for one post.

Like I said…It’s been such a long time.  I can’t possibly recap such an amazing year in a single blog post.

I can promise that I won’t be away quite that long ever again…after all…insomnia still happens, no matter how good one’s life or marriage is. Adjusting to sharing a bed with someone other than the cats or the kids after nearly a decade is an adjustment (read insomnia) and then adjusting to him being gone halfway across the world only days after you got married, because that is, after all, what he does for a living (read  more insomnia, especially when he’s in the air) is to be expected, especially when you are tracking his flight on your iPhone during the hours you should be sleeping, hoping all the while he arrives safely.

Yes, my life has changed drastically and dramatically in the last year.  If you ever felt like your life was going nowhere and you were ready to give up on your dreams, keep checking in here.  You’ll soon see how silly that idea really is.

 

 

 

About Miz Insomniac

Usually, it's the kids who grow up and leave home, but Miz Insomniac switched it up. When her kids grew up she decided to make her dreams come true so she flew the nest. After making 12 trips across the pond and back to Europe, Eastern Europe, and the Middle East in 2014-15, Miz Insomniac now qualifies as a world traveler. She hasn't quite mastered the fine art of traveling light, but she knows how to manipulate travel plans to avoid missed flights and jet lag. A former hopeless romantic turned realist, she's stateside now reinventing her life in a new city, with new opportunities, and all the challenges that come with leaving a career, traveling abroad for a year, and then returning to a world that's nothing like she left it. Her overseas travel is by no means over, it's just not as frequent. She's different now, but remains a night owl. She writes when she should be sleeping...and while you probably are.

Posted on July 14, 2014, in Dating, Marriage, What Keeps Me Up At Night and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

