Dating…Unintentionally

The dating site I was on seems to have generated some quality interest of late. Yes, I admit, my absence here Is due to enjoying vacation time, but also because I’ve spent said vacation time working honing my cycling skills. Yes, I’ve reached the 63-mile marker in length of ride, and I’ve reached a 14.4 mph on a 49 mile ride which is decent. I’m still recovering from that ride, two days later. Other than hills, we pushed a pretty steady 18-22 mph. which is far faster than I ever ride on my own. But enough of that. I’ve been working out. My body is showing the results, in my tummy area (good-bye muffin top) and below my knees (hello cut calves and serious cycling definition). Now, if only I could obtain the cyclist’s butt and thighs. All in good time, I tell myself.

But this is not about my workout regimen, this is about my love life, or my almost love life.

Just to review, I’ve mentioned before that I’m really not into the “dating” scene. I’m certainly not into the “online dating scene” but lo and behold, somehow, due to a strange twist of fate, or possibly one too many Tanqueray and tonics, I found myself signing up on a free dating site. I’ve since pulled that profile down. I happened to launch my “advertisement” at the worst possible time: a very busy season for me, when I really was not at all available to meet up. That being the case, there were two men that appeared on the scene and actually earned a meet up with me.

Man #1. Let’s call him Dave (not his real name). Dave and I met up at a new microbrew bar in our area, trendy, upscale, nice. We had a nice conversation for about an hour and then we left. I knew enough after meeting up with Dave, that he was a really decent soul, but probably not someone I was going to fall madly, passionately in love with. Don’t get me wrong, Dave has a great heart, but he just somehow didn’t capture my interest other than that of a “friend”. Moving on, even though he’s still contacting me daily.

Man #2. Okay, he captured my “more than friends” interest. Good-looking, interested in all the same things I’m into. We hung out for a while (at the same place Dave and I met up) and had a great time. But Man #2 has seemingly gone silent. He seemed totally into me when we were together, but since then he’s kept in touch but hasn’t moved things forward. Moving on…until he makes it clear he’s into me.

Man #3. Badass. Meaning, everything I’d look for, and more. Competent, thoughtful, funny, attractive. Crazy, unexpected, and completely unreachable (which maybe says something more about me than him). He’s an old crush from high school. Not the one I mentioned before and he’s also, get this, not married. I had the crush on him, he had no idea I existed. Understandable because back in the day I was the silent wallflower, nerdy gal, blending into the background. Nobody noticed me and I was okay with that. Thirty years later, we meet up at the first class reunion I ever attended. Needless to say, I’d blossomed. I had boobs, I knew how to apply some sort of make up and my fashion sense had improved. I got Man #3’s attention, as well as most of the other men and women in my graduating class. I thank my mother, yet again, for the genetics that allow me to pass as 15 years younger than I actually am. But class reunion aside, Man #3 was going through his own heartaches and we only touched base recently on Facebook.

Facebook, the maker and breaker of relationships. So far, in this case, it’s been making this friendship. I happen to be a frequent flyer on Facebook, so if he Facebook stalked me, he’s got a pretty good idea of who I am and what I’m about. And…he doesn’t seem to be put off by this. In high school he was the class clown. I was too tongue-tied to ever initiate a conversation with him or anyone of the opposite sex. Even now, he keeps me laughing and helps me to quit being quite so freaking intense about everything.

The down side? He lives halfway across the country when he’s actually in the country. The other times, he’s out of the country working at U.S. Embassies for months at a time. His current assignment has him in Central America for three months. So…we keep in touch via Skype. It’s been fun, and I get that he could be completely bored out of his skull and using our friendship to help pass the time. But, I kind of think he’s into me. I kind of suspect he might not change this trend when he returns stateside.

Of course, only time will tell.
Of course, I’m perfectly content to wait and see.
Ever had a situation where you understood the person so well that you could anticipate the next move? I’m there. Whether this works out to be something more than a long distance friendship or not, I know this is a man I could trust. He’s decent, of good character, and I know I could trust his behavior toward me, even if his intentions were suspect.
This could be nothing. It could also be very, very interesting.
What do I have to lose in waiting to see how it all pans out? Nothing. I’m a free agent, and he makes me laugh and yet we can talk on deeper levels as well. It’s been so very long since anyone has been able to do that. This is definitely worth exploring. Even if it doesn’t develop into something “significant”, it will have been enjoyable.
I guess, these days, I’m dating via Skype, unintentionally.

About Miz Insomniac

Usually, it's the kids who grow up and leave home, but Miz Insomniac switched it up. When her kids grew up she decided to make her dreams come true so she flew the nest. After making 12 trips across the pond and back to Europe, Eastern Europe, and the Middle East in 2014-15, Miz Insomniac now qualifies as a world traveler. She hasn't quite mastered the fine art of traveling light, but she knows how to manipulate travel plans to avoid missed flights and jet lag. A former hopeless romantic turned realist, she's stateside now reinventing her life in a new city, with new opportunities, and all the challenges that come with leaving a career, traveling abroad for a year, and then returning to a world that's nothing like she left it. Her overseas travel is by no means over, it's just not as frequent. She's different now, but remains a night owl. She writes when she should be sleeping...and while you probably are.

Posted on July 9, 2013, in Dating and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

