The Goldilocks Brief

2:23 a.m. The big projects I was working on have come up to their deadline. Proposals submitted, bids received, offers accepted, contracts signed. Two out of three of the projects were successful, the third, a surprising disappointment in some ways. This third project, was not the most profitable one, so having to go back to the drawing board on this is not a horrible defeat. For me, it means, I get to return home during my evenings. I get to spend time with my kids. I get to live a bit more normal life. Which means, I’m wide awake at 2:23 a.m., for no apparent reason.

Mr. Just Right, from my last post, ended up pushing our meet up for cocktails on Wednesday to dinner and a movie Sunday evening. He showed up, promptly at 5:30 p.m. While he’s wonderful enough on paper, I knew immediately that he wasn’t Mr. Just Right after all. I don’t usually know this right away, but this time, I did. Maybe it was the fact that even though he’s only a few years older than me, he looked as frail and hunched over as my 90-year-old grandma used to look, when she was 90 years old. Not that I judge people entirely on how they look, but let’s face it: when you’re looking for a romantic partner, you have to, at least, be attracted enough to want to get romantic. I knew instantly that this was not going to get romantic. I also knew instantly that this was going to be a very long evening. Fortunately, much of it was going to be a movie, but I had to get through dinner first.

I tend to be a decent conversationalist. I can ask all the right questions, but somehow, I knew, he wasn’t exactly fascinated with me either. (I find this completely surprising, because I’m absolutely amazing.) He began the evening with opening doors for me, and ended the evening by letting me get my own doors. It was a nice enough date. He’s a very nice guy. There’s just no spark, and about 90 minutes into our meet up, we’d basically run out of things to say to each other. This just doesn’t happen with me because I can talk about anything. Yet, it did. I knew, even before the movie started that this wasn’t going to get to first base, let alone, a second date.

Sure enough, after dropping me off at the curb Sunday evening, he did not call or email, until yesterday. He then emailed me to see if we were still on for cocktails after work. Fortunately, I got out of it by claiming I had a dinner meeting thrust on me. This was not entirely untrue. In fact it was completely true. The only thing was, had he actually been Mr. Just Right, I would have countered with an alternate time or day to meet. In this case, I simply said, “I have had a dinner meeting with out-of-town clients assigned to me. Thursday’s not going to work,” and I left it at that. Of course, I apologized and made it sound a bit more diplomatic than that, but not much. I won’t hear from him again, I’m quite certain.

I’m really pretty okay with that.

About Miz Insomniac

Usually, it's the kids who grow up and leave home, but Miz Insomniac switched it up. When her kids grew up she decided to make her dreams come true so she flew the nest. After making 12 trips across the pond and back to Europe, Eastern Europe, and the Middle East in 2014-15, Miz Insomniac now qualifies as a world traveler. She hasn't quite mastered the fine art of traveling light, but she knows how to manipulate travel plans to avoid missed flights and jet lag. A former hopeless romantic turned realist, she's stateside now reinventing her life in a new city, with new opportunities, and all the challenges that come with leaving a career, traveling abroad for a year, and then returning to a world that's nothing like she left it. Her overseas travel is by no means over, it's just not as frequent. She's different now, but remains a night owl. She writes when she should be sleeping...and while you probably are.

Posted on May 24, 2013, in Dating, Mama Politico, Relationships, The Future, The World of Work and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Was he really the age he said he was? I dated a woman once whose boyfriend previous to me had died suddenly. She was devastated, and stood by the coffin at the visitation greeting people. A friend of hers approached and expressed her condolences, and her surprise at this sudden death. ‘I know,’ said my friend, ‘he was only thirty-five.’ A while later the man’s sister, who had overheard the conversation, took my friend aside and explained to her that her brother was in fact fifty-two at the time of his death.

    • Ugh!!!! I hate this stuff. This is exactly why I can so easily remove myself from the entire online dating scene. The truth is, after meeting Mr. Not Just Right, I wanted to go back and check what his profile said for age. I truly felt as though I was hanging out with my grandparents. It was a real disconnect. I didn’t go back and check out his profile because just checking in on that site kind of makes me feel a bit sleazy, and I’d already made up my mind about him, so why bother. This all just underscores my point that “working” the online dating thing is futile. “Working” and living a genuine life is more likely to bring one in contact with people who are more…well…for lack of a better term…intriguing…and more likely to be “partner” material for one such as me. But, Varied God…didn’t you already state that truth a couple of comments ago?

Leave a Reply

