Stressful Vacations

Vacations are supposed to be relaxing. They are supposed to provide a way of escaping the day-to-day dilemmas and disasters. They are supposed to provide us with an opportunity to slow things down, to get done those things we want to do but which we often don’t have the time to do, they are supposed to provide us time to relax, to recreate, to even escape our realities in some way, if need be. At least, this is true in theory.

I had my two-week vacation all lined up. I was going to do as little as possible. I was going to relax, sleep in, do some cleaning that I can’t usually get to (read I was planning to steam clean the carpets) and ride my bike. I planned to spend a lot of time on that bike, pedaling away the pounds and the worries in my life. This was not how things rolled during my vacation. I was able to roll out exactly two times in fourteen days. Not exactly what I would call successful. I hardly did any cleaning, though I managed to stay caught up on laundry. The carpet cleaning was the first plan I abandoned. So what happened? What went so disastrously wrong that all my plans for relaxation and recreation went out the window?

What happened?

Shit happened.

So…my dealer drives my car down to me, but before they do this, they tell me that one of the requirements of this loan being funded is that there needs to be a statement from the insurance company saying that they will pay off the loan. I then inform my dealer for what is not the first time, that the loan will be paid off, minus my $500 deductible which I have sitting in the bank waiting for the go ahead to pay the loan off. I was clear. I was waiting on news from my insurance company about the value of the totaled car.

So, while I drove off with my shiny new vehicle on Saturday, what I didn’t know, because I wasn’t informed was that I had 7 days to provide this documentation of loan payoff or my loan on this vehicle wouldn’t fund.

Wow.

Okay, so…I’m waiting to find out what kind of settlement offer the insurance company is going to come up with and how much I’m going to have to pay to clear up the rest of the loan so that I can avoid having them come and take the car from me because the loan wasn’t funded.

Great.

I ended up spending day after day of my vacation tied to the phone. Waiting. Waiting to hear what the value of the car would be. Waiting to find out how much I would owe. Waiting for an insurance manager to approve the settlement for the adjuster. In the meantime, there were phone calls, emails, texts back and forth to clarify and send information. The entire first week of my vacation was spent waiting to find out if the car was going to be a total loss or not. The second week was spent making sure all my paperwork was turned in and that my loan was funded. I had seven days, and on day six, the letter from the adjuster finally went to my dealer with all the details of the loan payoff.

On day seven, I got the welcome phone call from the lender. My loan was funded, I didn’t have to worry about the dealer taking the car back or having to try to find another loan for me. I was ready to celebrate, except that there was no one to celebrate with and my two week vacation was nearly over. I had exactly three days left. Those days were spent driving my second oldest daughter (the one who totaled the car which got me into this new car) to a city five hours north of our home so that she could catch a flight on Monday for a job interview she had.

Yes, so just as my personal stress about the car is lifting, the stress of driving my daughter to “The City” and then spending most of the weekend walking around malls so that she can get what she needs for her trip, descended upon my life. Don’t get me wrong. We had a blast together. It’s just that driving five hours to home in pouring rain at 10:00 p.m. is not exactly the most relaxing thing you can do the night before going back to work when you just had two weeks off.

It was stressful, but I made it.

The loan has officially funded. The claim has been signed off on. The waiting around is over. I can go on with my life. I’m not feeling refreshed or like I was able to relax, but I can at least move forward with the rest of my life. It was one of the most stressful and disappointing vacations ever. At least, now I can move on, and that is a good thing.

About Miz Insomniac

Usually, it's the kids who grow up and leave home, but Miz Insomniac switched it up. When her kids grew up she decided to make her dreams come true so she flew the nest. After making 12 trips across the pond and back to Europe, Eastern Europe, and the Middle East in 2014-15, Miz Insomniac now qualifies as a world traveler. She hasn't quite mastered the fine art of traveling light, but she knows how to manipulate travel plans to avoid missed flights and jet lag. A former hopeless romantic turned realist, she's stateside now reinventing her life in a new city, with new opportunities, and all the challenges that come with leaving a career, traveling abroad for a year, and then returning to a world that's nothing like she left it. Her overseas travel is by no means over, it's just not as frequent. She's different now, but remains a night owl. She writes when she should be sleeping...and while you probably are.

Posted on April 8, 2013, in Dealing With Stress, Family Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

