Cats

I’m angry with my cats right now. I have four of them. I am pretty frustrated with one of them in particular. This cat is obnoxious. Every night after midnight, until about 3:00 a.m., he decides to get active. It’s as though someone injected a high dose of stimulants into his bloodstream. It’s making me crazy and depriving me of sleep…a lot of sleep…for a long time now.

One thing he will do, when he’s in his hyperactive state is to begin pouncing all over my bed. He’ll jump on my feet, whether I’m moving them or not. He’s even been known to jump on my head and swat my face. Somehow, I find it difficult to relax with this activity going on.

He also like to choose my bedroom chair and the carpet for his scratching post. Never mind that he has a scratching post. Never mind that during the day he is outside and has access to any number of trees on which to sharpen his claws. It doesn’t matter. The chair and the carpet in my room, during the wee hours of the morning are the only places that matter to him. It is an annoying noise, one that reaches down and yanks me up out of a deep slumber instantaneously. Making any kind of noise is futile. He ignores it. This means I have to either spray him with the water bottle I have next to my bedside or actually get up out of bed to shoo him out. I’ve tried shutting my bedroom door, he either finds a way to open it or he scratches it, and scratches it, and scratches it. This is not good for the door and I don’t exactly want to have to replace it anyway.

By far, the most annoying thing he does is play with the mini-blinds that cover the slider leading to my bedroom deck. This clink, clink, clash sound is almost unnoticeable in the daytime, but at night, in a silently, sIeeping home, the noise is deafening. I’d keep them pulled up at night, so he wouldn’t do this, but then the neighbor’s obnoxious, back porch light shines right in to my room. It’s bright. It’s annoying. It would also keep me up at night, and has.

This cat is quickly becoming my least favorite cat, because he’s creating some real sleep deprivation for me. He seems to know, as all cats somehow do, that he is secure in his place in our home. He is, after all, the first cat we ever owned and the one my youngest picked out from the litter when her best friend’s cat had kittens. While I’d have no problem with one less cat, or two, or four around my home, he is not going to be the first to go. My daughter would completely disown me if I got rid of him. He seems to know this. So he continues on unconcerned about the fact that he is incredibly disruptive at a time of day when I cannot really afford to have him disrupt me.

So, as I’ve typed this, this very cat is now sleeping soundly on the corner of my bed. I wonder, if I put away the iPad and turn out the light and try to get back to sleep, how long will this serenity last?

About Miz Insomniac

Usually, it's the kids who grow up and leave home, but Miz Insomniac switched it up. When her kids grew up she decided to make her dreams come true so she flew the nest. After making 12 trips across the pond and back to Europe, Eastern Europe, and the Middle East in 2014-15, Miz Insomniac now qualifies as a world traveler. She hasn't quite mastered the fine art of traveling light, but she knows how to manipulate travel plans to avoid missed flights and jet lag. A former hopeless romantic turned realist, she's stateside now reinventing her life in a new city, with new opportunities, and all the challenges that come with leaving a career, traveling abroad for a year, and then returning to a world that's nothing like she left it. Her overseas travel is by no means over, it's just not as frequent. She's different now, but remains a night owl. She writes when she should be sleeping...and while you probably are.

Posted on April 2, 2013, in What Keeps Me Up At Night and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

