Breaking Dawn, Part 2, Sexy Vampires Go to War

Since the last Breaking Dawn movie, my daughters and I have anticipated this last installment of the Twilight movies. It’s the movie when Bella gets her super vampire powers. The final book was the best, and based on what we saw of the trailers, we were sure the movie would not disappoint.

I woke up that morning with a serious backache. This is nothing strange. I believe my mattress is the culprit. It might be time to replace the thing. I got ready and headed of to work, but instead of feeling better with motion and activity, I felt worse.
I was definitely puzzled when the morning coffee nauseated me and water was all I could stomach. I downed a couple of ibuprofen, made it through the morning. But, just after lunch, I began to feel really strange. I was lightheaded and dizzy and short of breath. Every muscle in my body ached and I couldn’t get comfortable in my chair. Since I was doing computer work on a deadline, this was not a good thing. The minutes dragged. I remember looking at the clock and thinking, “Two and a half more hours. How am I going to make it?” I popped three ibuprofen this time and that seemed to help. I wasn’t in pain, but I wasn’t a hundred percent. I finished out my work day, ran to pick up tickets, and went out to meet an old friend from high school who was in town. We had a great time. Miraculously, I downed two beers, and a few hours later I headed off to pick up my kids for the show.

The theater was packed. There weren’t enough seats for us all to sit together so we ended up having to sit separately, but within eyesight of each other. We also scored one of the front rows. “This makes us the perfect targets if a crazy gunman enters the theater and let’s loose,” I remember thinking. We sat down to enjoy the show.

Right about the part in the movie where Edward and Bella learn that the Volturi are coming for their daughter, it hit me…hard. I name dizzy and hot, like I was going to pass out. I had to spend the rest of the movie with my eyes closed and my head between my legs. That was great fun. I missed the best parts of the movie. I kept thinking i should get up and leave, but I didn’t want to ruin it for the kids. I wavered from wishing the movie would hurry up and end,to wondering if I’d prepared my children adequately to know what to do if I collapsed unconscious, to wanting to look up and see what was happening. I remembered being so disappointed about missing the last scenes when I heard the audience erupt into applause at the end. I really had no idea what was wrong with me. I wondered if I might be having a heart attack, except there was no chest pain. I must have been a strange sight there on the front row, pitched forward, not watching the movie.

I had my daughter drive us home. I was able to get home and get changed before my stomach erupted. The next 36 hours I spent in bed with probably one of the worst intestinal bugs I’ve ever had. It’s over now, and I’m on the mend, but I’m still very disappointed that I missed the sexy vampires fight scene not to mention what a complete embarrassment I must have been to my kids.

About Miz Insomniac

Usually, it's the kids who grow up and leave home, but Miz Insomniac switched it up. When her kids grew up she decided to make her dreams come true so she flew the nest. After making 12 trips across the pond and back to Europe, Eastern Europe, and the Middle East in 2014-15, Miz Insomniac now qualifies as a world traveler. She hasn't quite mastered the fine art of traveling light, but she knows how to manipulate travel plans to avoid missed flights and jet lag. A former hopeless romantic turned realist, she's stateside now reinventing her life in a new city, with new opportunities, and all the challenges that come with leaving a career, traveling abroad for a year, and then returning to a world that's nothing like she left it. Her overseas travel is by no means over, it's just not as frequent. She's different now, but remains a night owl. She writes when she should be sleeping...and while you probably are.

Posted on November 18, 2012, in Memoirs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

