NaBloPoMo April: Happy Endings

I began this month with a challenge to myself and a couple of blog friends to write every day during the month of April.  I’ve never before been able to do this.  Why should I think I could do it now, especially when pressure is at an all-time high for me and I’m dealing with kids, finances, illness, work, and, well, life?  I actually didn’t think I would be able to make it.

I plugged away with a post here and a post there each night while the rest of the family snored blissfully on.  There were several occasions when The Hesitant Boyfriend (who cannot sleep with ANY kind of light on, not even the measly light put out from the screen of my iPhone 4) would pull off his fuzzy panda bear sleep mask and grumle, “Are you almost done, yet?”  There were several occasions where I tapped away on my iPhone while nearly nodding off myself.  There were plenty of occasions where I just couldn’t sleep so I tapped away, until sleep finally came my way.

I made it, and looking back, I’m a bit surprised and very pleased.  30 days of blogging during the month of April.  Not too bad.  It is a very happy ending to a pretty crummy month.

I’m not sure I’m going to keep up this pace.  I have three other blogs that are feeling pretty left out and needy, so I’ll probably give them some attention in the days to come.  You can be sure I’ll be blogging…somewhere…but it just might not be here.

But…if I can’t sleep…this is definitely where I’ll be.

About Miz Insomniac

Usually, it's the kids who grow up and leave home, but Miz Insomniac switched it up. When her kids grew up she decided to make her dreams come true so she flew the nest. After making 12 trips across the pond and back to Europe, Eastern Europe, and the Middle East in 2014-15, Miz Insomniac now qualifies as a world traveler. She hasn't quite mastered the fine art of traveling light, but she knows how to manipulate travel plans to avoid missed flights and jet lag. A former hopeless romantic turned realist, she's stateside now reinventing her life in a new city, with new opportunities, and all the challenges that come with leaving a career, traveling abroad for a year, and then returning to a world that's nothing like she left it. Her overseas travel is by no means over, it's just not as frequent. She's different now, but remains a night owl. She writes when she should be sleeping...and while you probably are.

Posted on April 30, 2012, in What Keeps Me Up At Night. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

