Bang Head Here Moments

This sign is visibly displayed in my office. I have occasion to use it, every now and then.  Today was one of those days.

After freaking out about my cat and hitting the panic button by rushing to the 24-hour emergency vet, and then spending $159 to get the cat evaluated and injected with antibiotics, I realized the following day that I actually have a very good friend who studied two years of veterinary science. Great.  She informed me that she would have been glad to look at my cat even late at night to let me know if what I was dealing with was urgent or whether it could wait.

Too bad I don’t have the bang head here sign at home.

It was probably a good thing that we took the cat in anyway, just for the antibiotic shot.  I just think I probably didn’t need to go rushing down there at midnight. Oh well.

I was able to sell a few unused items this weekend and make some money.  Enough, to get us through the week for gas and groceries. Part of what I sold was a piano that I’d left at my house (which I’ve been renting out) which my children used to plunk around on. In spite of not having formal lessons, they managed to kind of pick it up here and there. My second oldest especially worked hard at learning and spent a lot of time on that piano.  It was hard to let that piece go. I wonder if maybe I will regret selling that.

Last night, I invited a friend over that I haven’t seen in a long, long time.  We  used to work together, but then she transferred to another division of the company and though we kept in contact via Facebook, we’d not had a chance to get together until last night. Due to finances being what they are, we decided to meet up at my place rather than go out somewhere for drinks. The Hesitant Boyfriend waited on us hand and foot.  Thanks to selling the piano, we had a few dollars to spend on food for the evening. He bought a cheap bottle of red wine, the large size, which I proceeded to drink a significant portion of.  This was after having 4 beers.  It was a great evening, what I can remember of it.  I hope to do it again soon sans the beer and wine, because it was 10 o’clock this morning before I could even move and it was afternoon before I felt solid enough to even workout.  Yes, I did workout.  Yes, it was painful.

There’s a reason I don’t drink wine, red or otherwise.  It gives me a headache.  It makes me feel icky for the entire day afterward, even if I only have one glass.  I know this.  I drank it anyway.

Another bang head here moment.

And I thought the reason my head hurt was due to the wine.

 

About Miz Insomniac

Usually, it's the kids who grow up and leave home, but Miz Insomniac switched it up. When her kids grew up she decided to make her dreams come true so she flew the nest. After making 12 trips across the pond and back to Europe, Eastern Europe, and the Middle East in 2014-15, Miz Insomniac now qualifies as a world traveler. She hasn't quite mastered the fine art of traveling light, but she knows how to manipulate travel plans to avoid missed flights and jet lag. A former hopeless romantic turned realist, she's stateside now reinventing her life in a new city, with new opportunities, and all the challenges that come with leaving a career, traveling abroad for a year, and then returning to a world that's nothing like she left it. Her overseas travel is by no means over, it's just not as frequent. She's different now, but remains a night owl. She writes when she should be sleeping...and while you probably are.

Posted on April 22, 2012, in Life in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

