Someone Shot My Cat

This evening when I got home, The Hesitant Boyfriend noticed that a patch of hair was worn off my black cat. The location of the patch was on the meaty part of the back thigh. It looked, at first, like maybe a tick or flea was bothering the cat and he’d dug away hair to get at the pest. Upon closer scrutiny, we discovered a perfectly round puncture wound that was oozing bloody puss. And by oozing, I mean, this ooze was of volcanic proportions. THB thought someone might have shot our cat with a BB gun or a .22. We tried to clean the wound, but our cat fought his way out of that one and ran off.

I figured that cats are pretty good at fending for themselves, so we turned our attention to some episodes of West Wing a friend let us borrow. I couldn’t get THB’s comment out of my mind, though. What if something was lodged in the cat? It seemed infected. What if it didn’t heal on its own, but got worse? And who would shoot someone’s cat? Further, since he’s an inside cat, how and when was he out? I also didn’t exactly relish the idea of that ooze ending up all over the furniture and the house.

I searched the house for my cat. He’s a beautiful black shorthair. Exactly the kind represented on the Halloween decor each October. In fact, I make certain he’s safe inside during the fall months especially. Of the four cats, he is my own. I picked him out when he was a kitten after going to pick up another kitten my daughter reserved a few weeks earlier. He was pure black, so adorable, and I fell in love. Somehow this cat knows I love him, because as the most standoffish cat in our bunch cats, he is a cuddly creature only when he is with me.

I was worried that he might really be hurt, so we ended up taking him in to the emergency vet clinic not far from our place. Mind you, between the two of us, THB and I have less than $150 to buy gas and groceries for the next week. It’s not the norm for us, but with the Bankruptcy Trustee taking my tax return and, my car’s hot water pump and extra medical expenses coming due, we are ultra tight this month. Had I not sold some things, we would not even have this much.

I knew we were in trouble when we walked in the place at 11:30 pm and the sign said payment due at the time of service. And then we discovered they no longer take checks. I’m now wondering if I can just use my debit card and let it overdraw. The minimum cost to walk in the door is $105. I’m just sick. It is going to cost even more than this for sure. The last thing I needed was another financial blow and here it is.

Well, this is going to be interesting.

And, yes, I am worried about my cat.

Later…

The tech just came in and informed us that the cat is not the victim of a gun shot wound but of bites from other cats that have become infected or abcessed. Well, that’s the good news. Now, how about the financial devastation this is about to wreak on my life?

Even later….

We have been here nearly two hours. I am beginning to wonder if I will ever see my cat again. This place has never been this slow. THB mumbles,”We shaved too much hair off your cat so we are letting it grow back before you can go.” He’s delirious. He’s not a night owl at all. I’m tired, too, and might even be able to sleep if I were anywhere near a bed. I’d just like my cat and the bill, please. Well, I’d really just like the cat. You can keep the bill.

Much, Much, MUCH Later…

$159.00 later, I have my half shaved cat back, with the diagnosis of abscess of the left thigh.

That was our last amount of money until payday (I don’t even have a credit card to fall back on). How I’m going to get by with $20 for food and gas for the next week, I have no idea. I just need some sort of financial reprieve or windfall and soon.

At least the cat will will not need further care. It is a small comfort to know that none of the neighbors actually shot my cat.

Posted on April 21, 2012, in What Keeps Me Up At Night and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Not uncommon – cats outer skin heals so fast that a puncture often closes in over dirt and gets infected. Sometimes you don’t catch it the first pop and it gets really messy. The clue is to feel the cat all over every so often and see if a spot causes him to snap at you due to pain. They are very good at hiding it otherwise.

    Years back I was paid quarterly one year. Right after the check you felt rich, but being down below a hundred dollars with three and a half weeks to go was awful.

    • As a fairly new cat owner, I knew none of this. This was our first mishap with any of the cats so it was especially alarming. I’m now going to make sure I check out the cats much more often.

  2. I hope you make it through this rough patch. And I hope your cat gets well soon 😦 At least you know now that your cat’s safe.

  3. I definitely understand that kind of financial squeeze…and I admire you for taking care of your cat…

Leave a Reply

