The Ex Files

The Ex drama continues.

After all week of this guy being a complete jerk, I get the confirmation from him that, yes, he is planning to bring back the daughter on Saturday. That text was received at just after 7, this morning. That was a relief. I really thought for sure he would just stonewall me and keep her the entire next week also.

At nearly 6:30 this evening, I get another text asking if I want the daughter back early. I am not making this up. After all week of screwing up my life unexpectedly and demanding his time with his daughter, he’s wanting to know if I want her back. Wow. Some people can’t stick to a plan even when it is the one they bullied others about to make happen.

Of course, I’m immediately suspicious, wondering if this is really my ex after all. I thought maybe it could possibly be my daughter. I had no idea. Who knows? I certainly didn’t want to insist on keeping the Saturday time, in the event that he truly was worn out with her. Also, in the event that she knew or sensed that he was trying to ditch her, I didn’t want her to read that I didn’t want her back. (We had after all planned a fun outing but I’d figured she opted out by pressuring her dad to keep her for the week.)

I responded with a pretty honest but not mean response questioning the legitimacy of the inquiry, saying I was confused about why the switch, but that I’m always glad to have my daughter with me. I mentioned also that I was tired, which is true enough. I mean, I didn’t say this to him, but it’s pretty rotten for a guy to behave this way to an ex one week after she gets out of her second cancer surgery. Oh, but wait. Why does this even surprise me? This was the same guy who, when I was diagnosed with a severe enough case of pneumonia that I should have been hospitalized, opened our home to his friends and family so he could have a party. A big, loud, party. No, this is not a man who cares about anyone but himself.

The bottom line is that she is going to be returning to me tomorrow; even earlier than he originally insisted. I suspect I’m dealing with an ex who wants to let an 11-year-old call the shots. I think I might have an 11-year-old who now believes she can rule the world, because she just pitted Daddy against Mommy to get what she wanted. I don’t know for sure. I guess I’ll know soon enough.

For now, I’m heading to bed. It’s been an exhausting week

About Miz Insomniac

Usually, it's the kids who grow up and leave home, but Miz Insomniac switched it up. When her kids grew up she decided to make her dreams come true so she flew the nest. After making 12 trips across the pond and back to Europe, Eastern Europe, and the Middle East in 2014-15, Miz Insomniac now qualifies as a world traveler. She hasn't quite mastered the fine art of traveling light, but she knows how to manipulate travel plans to avoid missed flights and jet lag. A former hopeless romantic turned realist, she's stateside now reinventing her life in a new city, with new opportunities, and all the challenges that come with leaving a career, traveling abroad for a year, and then returning to a world that's nothing like she left it. Her overseas travel is by no means over, it's just not as frequent. She's different now, but remains a night owl. She writes when she should be sleeping...and while you probably are.

Posted on March 22, 2012, in Divorce and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

