Moving Musings or Musings About Moving

I’m exhausted these days.  I shouldn’t complain.  Who isn’t exhausted in our American overworked, stressed out society?  I should clarify, I’m more exhausted than I usually am these days, and yet, I cannot sleep.  I find this both strange and completely understandable.  It is strange because I’m not given to being so totally wiped out and still unable to sleep at night.  I find it understandable, because for the first time in my adult life since my mid to late 20’s, I am actually looking forward to my future.  That last statement is a testament of  just how pathetic my life has been over the last 25 years.  Or, maybe, it is proof that I’ve been depressed and simply trying to survive.   There really is nothing more life-draining, dehumanizing, energy-sucking, and damaging than a miserable relationship.  I’ve experienced not one, but two of these in the last 25 years.  One of the earliest signals to my younger self that something was indeed terribly wrong in my life was that I realized I had stopped looking forward to things in life.  I stopped anticipating. My life had become something to be endured.  Something to survive.  I anticipated no joys, no excitement, no future.  All I could do was survive…and I wasn’t even doing that for myself…I was doing that for my children.

I used to be the person who looked forward to moving.  New locations, new digs, new people.  I relished all the aspects of moving. For as much chaos as I’ve experienced in my life and for as much as people view me as being a free-wheeling, laid back, fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants type person, when it comes to moving, I am anything but laid back.  This move has been no exception.  I have systems in place that make moving as stress free as possible (as long as everyone around me does it my way).  I also have methods that make the moving day incredibly quick and painless.  Even though I’m a bit of a tyrant during a move, all who’ve moved with me, recognize that what I do works.  I don’t end up with stuff scattered all over the old place or the new place for weeks.  And I’m moved in and unpacked in a matter of a few hours an no one has to be inconvenienced or work overly hard.  Smooth moves.  That’s what I do well.

So, tonight, exhausted as I am, I cannot sleep because the minute I rest my weary head on the pillow, my mind begins scrolling through all that I have yet to do to get my family of six out of our house and into our new digs in the next 7 days.  It’s pretty exhilarating, considering that just over a week ago, I had no idea I was going to be moving over Labor Day Weekend. Sure, I knew a move was in my future, like maybe six months down the road.  I had no idea that within 24 hours I would find, tour, meet the landlords and put move-in fees down on what will be the largest and newest home I’ve lived in my entire adult life. Furthermore, I’m saving money in doing it.  Even further, it is super-conveniently located and has all the modern amenities; something I’ve lived without for nearly a decade now. I’m excited.  I’m anticipating this adventure.  I’m looking forward to life in this new place. Above all, this symbolizes a casting off of all that was painful, ugly, broken and beyond repair in my life.  As I toss or recycle each unnecessary or broken item, I’m taking another step closer to that clutter-free, minimalist lifestyle I seek.   Stuff clutters.  Clutter stresses.  I’m done with both.  The physical stuff and clutter are going,  as is the emotional stuff and clutter.

It is much easier to do away with the physical trash in my life than it is to get rid of the emotional garbage.  Of late, I am realizing the power of “letting go.”  I know it sounds cliche, but I’m learning there are things I just don’t have any power over.  As one who has been far too concerned with what others thought of me over the years (especially the ex’s), I’m learning that the very thing I wish I could control, but which I can’t, is others’ opinions and perceptions of me.  Sure, I can do my best to put my best foot forward, but when I tell my ex that what he proposes won’t work for his daughter and I, I cannot control that he thinks I am a control freak or that  he believes I’m intentionally sabotaging his relationship with his child.  Where he’s concerned, I am a control freak about our daughter, but this is more due to his extreme negligence and abusive behavior than it is my desire to control in this area.  In spite of that, I have no desire to sabotage any relationship he has with his daughter.  He will never believe this.  He will especially not believe this when he learns about our move.  His reaction worries me.  I then kick into feeling badly and somehow that I am again at fault for the conflict.  I am learning to stop my mind from running down that well-worn path and, instead, to take a different route this time.  This new route is one that affirms my ability to make good decisions and validates my intentions to move my family to a better situation in life.  A situation where I can be present for my children instead of stressing out about all the things I will never have the money to repair or maintain or do for my children.  I cannot be worried that this ex, who never cared about me or what was important to me, doesn’t understand my motives or intent.  No matter how I present this, he will view it negatively and I will likely end up in court anyway (a needless waste of time and expense).  I have to let that go.  I can’t waste energy on that.  With each item I throw out, I am banishing the memories of dysfunction and moving toward a healthier manner of living and relating.

This is the future I see.

This is the life I look forward to living.

 

About Miz Insomniac

Usually, it's the kids who grow up and leave home, but Miz Insomniac switched it up. When her kids grew up she decided to make her dreams come true so she flew the nest. After making 12 trips across the pond and back to Europe, Eastern Europe, and the Middle East in 2014-15, Miz Insomniac now qualifies as a world traveler. She hasn't quite mastered the fine art of traveling light, but she knows how to manipulate travel plans to avoid missed flights and jet lag. A former hopeless romantic turned realist, she's stateside now reinventing her life in a new city, with new opportunities, and all the challenges that come with leaving a career, traveling abroad for a year, and then returning to a world that's nothing like she left it. Her overseas travel is by no means over, it's just not as frequent. She's different now, but remains a night owl. She writes when she should be sleeping...and while you probably are.

Posted on August 27, 2011, in Memoirs and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. TheMindOfFreya

    What keeps me up at night sometimes is very similar to what you experience. I too have been through divorce…twice….
    I am remarried again and life is content with my son and his stepdad.
    Right now I am looking to make connections with others in my boat because through divorce I have lost many who don’t understand.
    Thanks for sharing your stuff. 🙂
    Val

    • Val,
      Thanks for commenting. I, too, lost a lifetime of friendships after my first divorce. The ironic thing is that I also lost and subsequently gained so many friends through the disaster that was my second marriage. Because he was abusive and very good at the psychological mind games I had to develop friendships and literally not give him any indication of who my friends were. Once he found out, whenever we were at odds, he would show up on the doorstep of my friends, attempting to convince them I was the one “in the wrong” (as if they should ever even have known we were arguing). I also had family members distance themselves from me out of concern for their own safety and well-being. I am glad you have remarried and are living a life of contentment. So often, dating/remarriage is anything but, especially if the new significant other hasn’t got a solid parenting plan or settled divorce situation. It cheers me to hear others who’ve found happiness after the pain of divorce.

Leave a Reply

